Online Databases

This guide lists all the online databases the TRHS LMC subscribes to along with tutorials on why you should use them and how to use them. Contact the LMC for usernames and passwords.

Should I Use Google or an Online Database

Which database should I choose?

General Databases provide access to books, journals, magazines, and newspapers on a large variety of subjects. A few examples would be EBSCO, Britannica School, and MasterFILE Premier.

Specialized Databases provide access to subject specific resources like health, science, literature, etc. A few examples are History Study Center, LitFinder, and Science Reference Center.

Library Media Specialist

Deana Collins's picture
Deana Collins
Contact:
Two Rivers High School
4519 Lincoln Ave.
Two Rivers, WI 54241
(920) 793-2291 ext: 6500

L. B. Clarke Middle School
4608 Bellevue Place
Two Rivers, WI 54241
(920) 794-1614 ext: 4104
Website

Stop Surfing, Start Finding: Online Databases

What is an online database?

  • An online database is a electronic collection of information that include scholarly articles, books, journals, magazines, books, and newspapers. Some online databases also include video, images, and more.
  • Libraries purchase access to online databases for patron use.

Why use an online database?

  • You will not waste time "surfing" the web
  • Unlike search engines (i.e. Google), online databases only include authoritative articles.
  • Information is organized in a subject focused format.
  • Authority is easy to determine
  • The content is reviewed and evaluated by subject experts and publishers
  • Information does not disappear. Databases are updated regularly.
  • There are no ads or sponsors.
  • Library online databases are available 24 hours a day.

Search by Using Multiple Keywords

Choosing Keywords or Search Terms

Improving Search Results