Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Art and Music Resources
This guide provides resources to help you search for information on Art and Music topics.
Dictionaries and Encyclopedias
The Artcyclopedia is an index of online museums and image archives: find where the works of over 8000 different fine artists can be viewed online.
Music Dictionary: Arts Alive
This online dictionary lists words and their definitions.
Schirmer Encyclopedia of Film
This encyclopedia provides an introduction to film and film studies, covering such aspects as production, national traditions, studios, genres, critical theory and film history. Contact the LMC for the password.
Art History: Khan Academy
Learn about art history and art from around the world.
Art History Basics
This website has a collection of videos, articles, and other materials about the development of art, artistic movements, and works. It also includes a glossary of important art terminology.
Heibrunn Timeline of Art History: The Metropolitan Museum of Art
Click on the continent and then on the date to read about art history of that time period. This website includes essays and works of art.
Mother of All Art and Art History Links Pages
This website provided by the University of Michigan provides links to resources for Art History, including art museums and online image collections.
Study art and cultural heritage with this website. It includes videos, articles, and essays that ranges from the paleolithic to the present. It provides resources AP Art History.
Art Institute of Chicago
This online collections provides access to over 95,000 works and basic information about works of art from all areas of the institute's encyclopedic collection.
This website has fine art images from over 8,000 collections and 29,000 artists from museums, galleries, and artists throughout the world.
Cantor Arts Center: Standford University
Collections include Africa, Asia, Europe and America, Modern and Contemporary, Native Americas, the Stanford Family Collection, and Prints, Drawings, and Photographs.
Getty Publications Virtual Library
This virtual library covers different topics including art, archeology, photography, architecture, the Humanities and many more. The books can be read online or downloaded.
Google Arts and Culture
Google and Art institutes around the world have come together to allow everyone discover artworks, collections and stories from all around the world.
National Gallery of Art: NGA Images
NGA Images is a repository of digital images of the collections of the National Gallery of Art. Over 45,000 open access digital images are available free of charge for download and use.
New York Public Libary Digital Collections
View 707,667 items digitized from The New York Public Library's collections.
Philadelphia Museum of Art
Search and view the Philadelphia Museum of Art's collection.
Smithsonian American Art Museum
Search and view the Smithsonian American Art Museum's collection.
This website is a comprehensive and in-depth resource for finding out more about albums, bands, musicians, and songs.
BBC Sound Effects Library
Over 16,000 BBC Sound Effects BBC Sound Effects are available .WAV format to download for use under the terms of the RemArc Copyright License. They may be used for personal, educational or research purposes, as detailed in the license.
This website has 175 free tracks that you can use in your in your multimedia project (online videos, websites, animations, etc.), but you must give credit to Bensound.com.
This website provides Creative Commons licensed music you can use for podcasts, videos, and games, as long as you give credit to the musicians.
Free Music Archive at Archive.org
The Free Music Archive is an interactive library of legal audio downloads founded by legendary freeform radio station WFMU. All music is licensed with Creative Commons copyright.
This library contains recordings ranging from alternative news programming, to Grateful Dead concerts, to Old Time Radio shows, to original music uploaded by users. Many of these audios and MP3s are available for free download.
This website offers a collection of music with over 500,000 tracks shared by 40,000 artists from over 150 countries. Music on this site falls under Creative Commons copyright.
This website offers video clips and music you can use in class projects
This website contains Creative Commons licensed sound effects, sound clips, and sound bites you can use in school projects.
Search the TRHS Online Catalog
Copyright Free Photos
Remember to always read the "Terms of Service" to make sure you do not violate copyright laws.
Search Flickr, Google Images, Wikimedia Commons, and Pixabay to find pictures you can use for your school assignments
This website provides public domain images.
Photos For Class
This website offers Creative Commons copyrighted photos you can use in school assignments.
Teachers and students can use the copyright-friendly photos and images for classrooms, multimedia projects, web sites, videos, portfolios, or any other project in an educational setting.
This website has images with Creative Commons Copyright. It also tells you how to properly cite the images in your work.
Smithsonian Institute Open Access
Download, share, and reuse millions of the Smithsonian Institute’s 2D and 3D images.
This website provides Creative Commons photos, video clips, and fonts for a variety of topics that you can use in school assignments.
This website provides illustrations about technology that you can use in presentations.
This website provides Creative Commons photos for a variety of topics that you can use in school assignments.