Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
General Reference Resources
This guide provides general reference websites you can use.
Magazines and Newspapers
Access newspapers and magazines, newswires, financial news, and more.
Kiosko.net is a visual daily press directory that provides access to the world's largest news sites and displays a readable image taken from today's front page cover of each newspaper.
Popular Magazines: Badgerlink
These magazines are free to read for any resident of Wisconsin.
Newspaper Source Plus
Full-text newspapers, television and radio news transcripts. You can download articles to Google Drive.
Near real-time access to top world-wide news. You can download articles to Google Drive.
U. S. Newsstream
U.S. Newsstream includes newswires, news journals, television and radio transcripts, blogs, podcasts, and digital-only websites. Content is updated daily, with same-day publication access to over 250 titles.
Wisconsin Newspapers Digital Research
This website provides access to daily and weekly newspapers in Wisconsin, starting in 2005 to the present. You may need to log in with your library card. Contact the LMC if you need help with this.
Almanacs, Atlases, Dictionaries, and Encyclopedias
Governmental Information Websites
Find popular facts (population, income, etc.) and frequently requested data about communities.
Ben's Guide to the U. S. Government
This website is designed to inform students, parents, and educators about the Federal Government.
Explore careers, salaries, take self-assessments, and plan your career.
This website provides resources to a variety of governmental topics.
Healthfinder.gov provides information and tools to help people stay healthy.
The Library of Congress
Search the nation's library.
This is the world’s largest medical library. It provides information about diseases, conditions, and wellness issues.
Occupational Outlook Handbook
Find career information on duties, education and training, pay, and outlook for hundreds of occupations.
Population Reference Bureau
This website provides information on population, health, and the environment around the world.
U.S. House of Representatives
This is the official web portal for the U.S. House of Representatives.
This is the official web portal for the U. S. Senate
USA.gov is the U.S. government's official web portal.
The White House
This is the official web portal for the White House.
This is the official web portal for the Wisconsin state government.
Wisconsin Blue Book
The Wisconsin Blue Book provides yearly information about the state of Wisconsin.
Copyright Free Music
This website is a comprehensive and in-depth resource for finding out more about albums, bands, musicians, and songs.
BBC Sound Effects Library
Over 16,000 BBC Sound Effects BBC Sound Effects are available .WAV format to download for use under the terms of the RemArc Copyright License. They may be used for personal, educational or research purposes, as detailed in the license.
This website has 175 free tracks that you can use in your in your multimedia project (online videos, websites, animations, etc.), but you must give credit to Bensound.com.
This website provides Creative Commons licensed music you can use for podcasts, videos, and games, as long as you give credit to the musicians.
Free Music Archive at Archive.org
The Free Music Archive is an interactive library of legal audio downloads founded by legendary freeform radio station WFMU. All music is licensed with Creative Commons copyright.
This library contains recordings ranging from alternative news programming, to Grateful Dead concerts, to Old Time Radio shows, to original music uploaded by users. Many of these audios and MP3s are available for free download.
This website offers a collection of music with over 500,000 tracks shared by 40,000 artists from over 150 countries. Music on this site falls under Creative Commons copyright.
This website offers video clips and music you can use in class projects
This website contains Creative Commons licensed sound effects, sound clips, and sound bites you can use in school projects.
Conversion and Calculation Center
Convert and calculate measurements, currencies, world time, calculators, and more.
Manualslib: the Ultimate Manual Library
Find manuals for a wide variety of items.
Find maps, information about history, culture, exploration, and more.
This is an independent, nonpartisan resource on trends in American public opinion.
Find reference, facts, and news.
This website has a statistical database which allows users to research and compare a multitude of different data on US states.
Copyright Free Photos
Remember to always read the "Terms of Service" to make sure you do not violate copyright laws.
Search Flickr, Google Images, Wikimedia Commons, and Pixabay to find pictures you can use for your school assignments
This website provides public domain images.
Photos For Class
This website offers Creative Commons copyrighted photos you can use in school assignments.
Teachers and students can use the copyright-friendly photos and images for classrooms, multimedia projects, web sites, videos, portfolios, or any other project in an educational setting.
This website has images with Creative Commons Copyright. It also tells you how to properly cite the images in your work.
Smithsonian Institute Open Access
Download, share, and reuse millions of the Smithsonian Institute’s 2D and 3D images.
This website provides Creative Commons photos, video clips, and fonts for a variety of topics that you can use in school assignments.
This website provides Creative Commons photos for a variety of topics that you can use in school assignments.