Two Rivers Guides: English: English

English Resources

The tabs at the top will provide you with resources and links to help with your English research projects.

BadgerLink English Language Arts Research Guide
Discover informational and research resources as well as fiction book recommendations and literary criticism.
Glossary of Poetic Terms
This website provides definitions of poetic terms.
Grammar and Punctuation Rules
This website provides rules for grammar, punctuation, numbers, capitalization, confusing words, and homonyms.
Grammarly Handbook
This online resource has detailed explanations on grammar, punctuation, mechanics, and sentence style and clarity, It also has instruction on how to improve your writing with the basics of writing, academic writing, organization and development, revising and editing, and research and documentation.
Literary Devices
This websites provides definitions and examples of literary terms.

Search the TRHS Online Catalog

TRHS LMC Online Catalog
Search the TRHS LMC Online Catalog

Books in the TRHS LMC

Random House Webster's Grammar, Usage, and Punctuation by RH Disney Staff A guide to English grammar, usage, and punctuation that covers parts of speech, phrases, clauses, sentences, shifts, parallelism, common errors, avoiding insensitive and offensive language, spelling, writing, prefixes, suffixes, roots, and other related topics, and includes quizzes.
Call Number: 425 Ran
ISBN: 9780375722769
Publication Date: 2008-07-08
American English by Julie S. Amberg; Deborah J. Vause Explores the history and development of the English language, specifically its history and usage in America compared to Britain. Offers lessons on linguistics with examples from popular culture.
Call Number: 427 Amb
ISBN: 9780521617888
Publication Date: 2009-10-30
English Grammar by Phyllis Dutwin A comprehensive reference guide to English grammar, covering parts of speech, punctuation, capitalization, sentence structure, common errors, and other topics; includes practice exercises
Call Number: 428.2 Dut
ISBN: 0071600809
Publication Date: 2009-12-09
The Handy Literature Answer Book by Daniel S. Burt; Deborah G. Felder Answers nearly 400 questions on literature, arranged in such categories as themes, symbols, context, and other literary devices.
Call Number: 809 Bur
ISBN: 9781578596355
Publication Date: 2018-07-01

English Websites

Directory of Open Access Journals
This online directory has over 10,000 journals and almost two million high quality peer-reviewed articles. Topics cover the areas of science, technology, medicine, social science and humanities.
Discovering Literature: Romantic and Victorians
This website features over 8,000 pages of collection items and explores more than 20 Romantic and Victorian period authors through 165 newly-commissioned articles, 25 short documentary films, and 30 lesson plans.
Encyclopedia of Science Fiction
This third edition provides over 18,500 entries.
Literary Movements
This website discusses literary movements throughout history.
Literary Theory and Schools of Criticism
This website provided by Purdue OWL provides concise descriptions of different schools of thought.
Literature Timeline
This timeline highlights major literary events from 6000 BC to the 20th century.
Luminarium: Anthology of English Literature
This website has articles about English literature and authors from the Medieval, Renaissance, 17th Century, and Restoration time periods.
Romantic Circles
This is a refereed scholarly website devoted to the study of Romantic-period literature and culture.

Grammar and Punctuation Tutorials

English Grammar Tutorials
These video tutorials, from Khan Academy, discuss grammar, parts of speech, punctuation, and syntax.
How to Use a Semicolon
This TEDEd video clip and lesson teach you how to use a semicolon correctly.
Online Tutorial for Effective Writing Practices
This is a self paced, grammar, punctuation, organization, and writing style tutorial. It includes online quizzes.

Poetry

PoemHunter
This website has over 100,000 poems and short poet biographies.
Poetry Foundation
Find poems on a variety of topics.
Poets' Corner
This website covers roughly 7,000 works by about 800 poets.
Poets.org
This website has 7,000 poems, over 2,500 poet biographies, essays about poetry, books, anthologies, and textbooks.

Library Media Specialist

Deana Collins

Email Me

Contact:

Two Rivers High School
4519 Lincoln Ave.
Two Rivers, WI 54241
(920) 793-2291 ext: 6500

L. B. Clarke Middle School
4608 Bellevue Place
Two Rivers, WI 54241
(920) 794-1614 ext: 4600