Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Research Process: Research Databases

Conducting research is a multi-step process. This guide will teach you how to conduct effective and efficient research.

Research Databases

What is an research database?

  • An online research database is a electronic collection of information that include scholarly articles, books, journals, magazines, books, and newspapers. Some research databases also include video, images, and more.
  • Libraries purchase access to online databases for patron use.

Why use a research database?

  • Unlike search engines (i.e. Google), research databases only include authoritative articles.
  • Information is organized in a subject focused format.
  • Authority is easy to determine
  • The content is reviewed and evaluated by subject experts and publishers
  • Information does not disappear. Databases are updated regularly.
  • There are no ads or sponsors.
  • Library online research databases are available 24 hours a day.

Remember, if you are having trouble finding resources you may need to revise your keyword search terms. Contact the Library Media Center for online database usernames, and passwords.

Which database should I choose?

General Databases provide access to books, journals, magazines, and newspapers on a large variety of subjects. A few examples would be EBSCO, Britannica School, and MasterFILE Premier.

Specialized Databases provide access to subject specific resources like health, science, literature, etc. A few examples are History Study Center, LitFinder, and Science Reference Center.

Improving Search Results

Search by Using Multiple Keywords

Why should you use research databases instead of the internet?

How to Search a Research Database

Research Databases Available at TRHS LMC