Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Animal and Plant Cell Resources
This LibGuide provides resources animal and plant cell research.
Always begin your research using online research databases because they have the most authoritative information. The articles listed below provide general information. After you have used the research databases, then use websites for your research. Be careful and conduct a website evaluation on every website you look at to make sure the information is accurate. These websites that have already been evaluated.
If you are using a Badgerlink research database and get the Whoops page, then click here for directions.
Animal and Plant Cell Websites
Animal and Plant Cells: Classzone
This is a virtual tour of the structures of plant and animal cells.
Cells: BBC KS3 Bitesize Science
This website provides information on the structure of cells, specialized cells, diffusion, and osmosis.
This website provides interactive diagrams, animations, and information about cells, cell parts, and the processes of mitosis and meiosis.
Cells are the Starting Point: Biology4Kids
This website provides information about animal and plant cells. Make sure to click on the links under "Overview" on the right hand side of the page to learn more about each topic.
Cells Introduction: Shmoop
This website provides a wide variety of information about cells.
Comparing Plant and Animal Cells: Harcourtschool
This interactive tutorial compares animal and plant cells.
How Cells Divide
This website provides an animation about how cells divide.
Plant Cells, Chloroplasts, and Cell Walls
This article explains the origin of chloroplasts, the function of chloroplast membranes, the cell wall, and vacuoles.
Plant Cells: CK12
This article provides basic information about plant cells.
Research Database Articles
Animal Cells: Explora for Middle and High School
This is a topic overview article about animal cells.
Animal Cell Structure: Gale in Context
This is a list of newspaper, reference, and magazine articles, biographies, and images about animal cell structure.
Cell, in Biology: Explora for Middle and High School
This article provides basic information on cell structure.
Cell: Britannica School-Middle
This article includes information about prokaryotes and eukaryotes, cell structure, cell division, specialized cells, and the history of cell theory. It also includes images and related articles.
In order to read this article you may need to go to http://badgerlink.dpi.wi.gov/resources#b. Scroll down to Britannica School-Middle, and click on the link to open the resource. Then come back to this link and click on it.
Cell: Funk and Wagnall's New World Encyclopdia
This article provides information on structure and function, division reproduction, and differentiation, origin of life and evolution, and history of a cell.
Cell Membrane: Explora for Middle and High School
This is a topic overview article about cell membranes.
Cells (Biology): Gale in Context
This provides a topic overview and also includes, reference, newspaper and magazine articles, biographies, images, and video and audio clips.
Cells: Middle Search Plus
This is a list of article dealing with cells.
Cells: Primary Search
This is a list of article about cells with lower reading levels.
Cells: World Book Online
This article provides information on cell structure, life of a cell, work of a cell, and more. It also includes links to websites, images, related articles, and additional magazine articles.
Plant: Funk and Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia
This article provides information on plant cell structure and function. Click on "Cell Structure and Function" under Contents.
Plant Cells: SIRS Discoverer
This provides a list of reference articles about plant cells.
Plant Cell Structure: Gale in Context
This provides a list of reference, magazine and newspaper articles, biographies, and images about plant cell structure.