Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Roller Coaster Physics Resources
This LibGuide provides articles from online research databases for roller coaster physics research.
Always begin your research using online research databases because they have the most authoritative information. The articles listed below provide general information. After you have used the research databases, then use websites for your research. Be careful and conduct a website evaluation on every website you look at to make sure the information is accurate. These websites that have already been evaluated.
If you are using a Badgerlink research database and get the Whoops page, then click here for directions.
Roller Coaster Physics Websites
Research Database Articles
Coolest Coasters on Earth
The article discusses technologies used in five of the craziest roller coasters. It is from Explora for Middle and High School.
This article explains on the technology used to propel roller coasters. It is from Explora for Middle and High School.
On the Wild Side
This article provides information on roller coaster design. It is from Explora for Middle and High School.
Physics a Wild Ride
This article provides basic information about how a roller coaster works. It is from Explora for Middle and High School.
Roller Coasters Level E
The article provides information on roller coasters and several quizzes and activities. It is from Science Reference Center.
Ups and Downs of Coaster Physics
This article explains the physics of roller coasters. It is from Explora for Middle and High School.